The Shadow Conspiracy II

edited by Phyllis Irene Radford and
Maya Kaathryn Bohnhoff

$4.99 (Anthology) ISBN 978-1-61138-043-9

The soul of the poet who would be king still seeks immortality — but will it find a home? And will that home be flesh or steel?

Revisit the shared Victorian world of transferable souls and intelligent machines introduced in The Shadow Conspiracy. Judith Tarr’s irrepressible Emma Rigby prances through a new adventure with automata. Nancy Jane Moore brings us more missions for the mysterious warrior woman, Jane Freemantle. Chris Dolley brings to life a wonderful parody reminiscent of P.G. Wodehouse.

Then there are the historical characters who keep popping into our works of fiction. Amy Sterling Casil introduces us to insane artist Richard Dadd and makes us redefine madness. Irene Radford visits Dr. John McLaughlin and his wife Marguerite in the Oregon Country with some questions about when no government is too much government. Pati Nagle gives us some more insight into the life of mystical Marie LaVeau. And always, Ada King, Countess of Lovelace, hovers in the background along with her father, Lord Byron.

Read a sample


The eleven short stories in this Steampunk shared-world anthology have very little overlap, and can be enjoyed independently of one another, and even from the ones collected in the first book of the series, Shadow Conspiracy. As one who had not read the original prior to this sequel, this reviewer can attest to the strength of this anthology, and will certainly be reading the original in the coming days.


“Mad Bad Richard Dadd” by Amy Sterling Casil
“The Peculiar Case of Sir Willoughby Smythe” by Judith Tarr
“Pirate Queen of French Prairie” by Irene Radford
“The Maiden Mechanical” by Brenda Clough
“Shadow of Kilimanjaro” by Sue Lange
“Nuthin’ but a Man” by C.L. Anderson
“Abide with Me” by Katharine Eliska Kimbriel
“Steel Seraph” by Maya Kaathryn Bohnhoff
“New Lives” by Nancy Jane Moore
“Clair de Lune” by Pati Nagle
“What Ho! Automaton” by Chris Dolley

The Shadow Conspiracy Anthology Series

The Shadow Conspiracy
The Shadow Conspiracy II
The Shadow Conspiracy III: Clockwork Souls