Close this search box.

New Worlds, Year Six: More Essays on the Art of Worldbuilding

Enter a land of infinite possibility . . .

New Worlds, Year Six: More Essays on the Art of Worldbuilding

Author Name:

Release Date : April 25, 2023

ISBN Number : 978-1-63632-127-1


Kindle Reader = Mobi
Others = Epub


Enter a land of infinite possibility . . .

In this, the sixth volume of the NEW WORLDS series of worldbuilding guides for science fiction and fantasy writers, award-winning author Marie Brennan takes a deep dive into topics as weighty as slavery, as illicit as crime, and as fun as the inner workings of a magic system. With essays ranging from siege warfare to artistic patronage to food prohibitions, there is something here for every story!

This volume collects essays from the sixth year of the New Worlds Patreon.

Book 6 in the New Worlds series

Genre : , SKU : MB-NWY6 Categories : , Tag :

Share :

  • Introduction
  • In the Beginning
  • The End of Days
  • The Problem of Evil
  • Seeking Salvation
  • The Cultural Weight of Time
  • Count to Ten
  • Calculation Devices
  • Weights and Measures
  • Sticky Fingers
  • On the High Seas and High Roads
  • Illicit Goods
  • The Thieves’ Guild Fantasy
  • Gangs and Organized Crime
  • Abduction
  • Assault and Battery
  • Murder Most Foul
  • Raiding for Fun and Profit
  • Storming the Castle
  • Under Siege
  • On the Field of Battle
  • Slavery in Fiction
  • Foundations of Slavery
  • Slave Rights (and Lack Thereof)
  • The Uses of Slave Labor
  • Runaways and Rebellion
  • Freedmen and Freedom
  • Life After Slavery
  • Slavery-Adjacent
  • Citizenship and Subjecthood
  • Aliens of Another Kind
  • Vassalage and Suzerainty
  • Political Patronage
  • The Individual vs. the Collective
  • The Water We Swim In
  • That’s Private
  • Cultural Virtues
  • Invasive Species
  • Animals and Their Meaning
  • On the Hunt
  • Don’t Eat That
  • Food Preservation
  • Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice
  • Fancy Feasts
  • Dining Out
  • The Human Voice
  • Beat the Drums
  • Strings and Winds
  • Patron of the Arts
  • Magic Is
  • Principles of Magic I
  • Principles of Magic II
  • The Personal Touch
  • Afterword

About the Author: Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She recently misapplied her professors’ hard work to The Game of 100 Candles and the short novel Driftwood. She is the author of the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent along with several other series, over seventy short stories, and the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides; as half of M.A. Carrick, she has written the epic Rook and Rose trilogy, beginning with The Mask of Mirrors. For more information, visit, Twitter @swan_tower, or her Patreon.

External Links

Book Sample

Choose Book Format


External Links

Downloadable Links