Close this search box.

Ars Historica

The past is prologue . . .

Ars Historica

Author Name:

Release Date : November 7, 2017

ISBN Number : 9781611387025


Kindle Reader = Mobi
Others = Epub


The past is prologue . . .

Kit Marlowe. Guy Fawkes. Ada Lovelace. Kings and sailors and sainted nuns populate these seven stories of historical fantasy by award-winning author Marie Brennan. They span the ages from the second century B.C.E. to the nineteenth century C.E., from ancient Persia to the London of the Onyx Court. Discover the secret histories, hear the stories that have never been told — until now.

Part of the Collected Short Fiction of Marie Brennan

Share :

Table of Contents

  • “And Blow Them at the Moon”
  • “The Deaths of Christopher Marlowe”
  • “Two Pretenders”
  • “The Damnation of St. Teresa of Ávila”
  • “To Rise No More”
  • “False Colours”
  • “Dying Old”
  • Story notes

About the Author: Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She recently misapplied her professors’ hard work to The Night Parade of 100 Demons and the short novel Driftwood, and together with Alyc Helms as M.A. Carrick, she is the author of the Rook and Rose epic fantasy trilogy, beginning with The Mask of Mirrors. The first book of her Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent, A Natural History of Dragons, was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. Her other works include the Doppelganger duology, the urban fantasy Wilders series, the Onyx Court historical fantasies, the Varekai novellas, and over seventy short stories, as well as the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides. For more information, visit, Twitter @swan_tower, or her Patreon.

Choose Book Format



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ars Historica”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

So begins the story of two people whose lives appear fragmented across alternate realities.