Linda Nagata Nominated for Sturgeon Award

The Martian Obelisk

Illustration from The Martian Obelisk on

BVC’s own Linda Nagata is among the finalists for the 2018 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, which honors the best short science fiction of the year. The award is given annually by the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at Kansas University.

The story that earned the nomination was “The Martian Obelisk,” which appeared on The story can be read here.

The other finalists are:

“Don’t Press Charges and I Won’t Sue”, Charlie Jane Anders (Global Dystopias).
“Zen and the Art of Starship Maintenance”, Tobias S. Buckell (Cosmic Powers).
“The Discrete Charm of the Turing Machine”, Greg Egan (Asimov’s 11-12/17).
“Sidewalks”, Maureen McHugh (Omni 11/17).
“The Secret Life of Bots”, Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld 9/17).
“And Then There Were (N-One)”, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 3/17).
“Fandom for Robots”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Uncanny 9/17).
“A Series of Steaks”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld 1/17).
“Welcome to Your Authentic Indian ExperienceTM”, Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex 8/17).
“We Who Live in the Heart”, Kelly Robson (Clarkesworld 5/17).



Comments are closed.