Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith has been telling stories since she was five years old and living in Japan, and writing every day for pleasure since eleven, but Mitch Kapor’s program Agenda, the Cambridge Speculative Fiction Workshop, and Mark Bernstein of Eastgate Systems changed her life and got her writing for other people.

Smith’s first young adult mystery, The Other Side of Dark, appeared from Atheneum/Simon & Schuster in November 2010. In April 2011, The Other Side of Dark won the Malice Domestic Agatha Award for Best Children’s/YA Novel.

She is also the author of the modern standalone Chasing Shakespeares and three historical mysteries, The Vanished Child, The Knowledge of Water, and A Citizen of the Country. The Vanished Child and The Knowledge of Water were named New York Times Notable Books of the Year. Her poems and stories have appeared in magazines and anthologies, and her translation of Léa Silhol’s ”Emblemata“ appears in Interfictions 1.



A Free Short Story
by Sarah Smith

Long ago, when I was just married, I saw a girl die. I saw it ­planned, I was there when it happened. I sat in the audience­ while she swallowed poison. Now she haunts me, a pathetic­ outmoded ghost, a cafe singer from the days of Toulouse-Lautrec, ­with her pleading eyes and her outstretched hand. I’ve put her ­into stories, I wrote a film script about her, back when I was a ­little famous; but no one reads me now, and still she won’t rest. She comes to visit me at midnights, and she sings to me.

It’s so dark, she quavers. I’m so afraid…

Continue reading