Rebel: The Change Book 3 by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith

The Change Series: Book Three
by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith
$4.95 (Novel) ISBN 978-1-61138-567-0
A BVC Original

Welcome back to Las Anclas, a frontier town in the post-apocalyptic Wild West. In this perilous landscape, a schoolboy can create earthquakes, poisonous cloud vipers flock in the desert skies, and the beaches are stalked by giant mind-controlling lobsters.

The tyrant king Voske has been defeated, but all is not peaceful in Las Anclas. Ross’s past comes back to haunt him, Jennie struggles with her new career, Mia faces her fears, Felicité resorts to desperate measures to keep her secrets, Kerry wonders if Las Anclas has really seen the last of her father, and shy Becky Callahan may hold the key to a dangerous mystery.

In Rebel, long-held secrets of past and present are revealed, family ties can strangle as well as sustain, and the greatest peril threatening Las Anclas comes from inside its walls.

The Change Series:

Traitor (forthcoming)

Reviews of Hostage, The Change Series: Book Two:

“Yes, it’s another post-apocalyptic series opener, but it’s infused with a generous spirit–call it a utopian dystopia. […]

“Characterization is rich and stereotype-free. For gays and lesbians, sexual orientation is neither more nor less a defining characteristic than it is for heterosexuals. Equally exceptional is the depiction of conflict. The confusing adrenaline rush of war is followed by PTSD, its lingering afterimage. The five dynamic narrators and action-packed plot deliver thrills while slyly undermining genre cliches.

“A first-rate page turner that leaves its own compelling afterimage.” —Kirkus (starred review)

“Brown and Smith have collaborated beautifully in creating an alternative future planet, with strange creatures, changed people, and many dangers. What makes this book different from so many dystopian novels is the depth of character development (including both straight and gay romances), chapter points of view that rotate through five different characters, and the ease with which readers will be completely immersed in this world. Perfect for fans of Michael Grant’s GONE series. Expect more.” –Melissa Moore, Booklist

Download an Ebook Sample: